Recommended Summer Reading ’12

If you are looking for some ideas for summer reading, here’s the titles I recommended to our congregation this summer:

 

Back on Murder by J. Mark Bertrand – This mystery novel by my friend, Mark Bertrand, is filled with suspense and written from a Christian worldview of values.

The Explicit Gospel by Matt Chandler – “If you read only one book this year, make it this one. It’s that important.” – Rick Warren, Author of The Purpose-Driven Life

Red Like Blood by Joe Coffey and Bob Bevington – Soaked in grace stories, your soul will soar with joy as you contemplate God’s amazing grace and love.

Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand – One of my favorite books of all time, this biography of the amazing story of Olympian and WWII veteran Louis Zamperini is the ultimate keep you up late at night page-turner.

The Meaning of Marriage by Tim Keller – “This is a powerful book; it is my new favorite book on marriage and the best of all the books I read in 2011.” – Tim Challies, Author of The Next Story

A Shepherd Looks at Psalm 23 by Phillip Keller – Few books have done more in the past fifty years to help Christians understand the caring, nurturing ways of our Good Shepherd. THE classic work on the beloved 23rd Psalm.

A Praying Life by Paul Miller – “In my library, I have perhaps twenty different volumes on prayer, but none as so captured my heart or propelled me into fresh communion with our Father as much as A Praying Life.” – Scotty Smith, Pastor, Christ Community Church

Knowing God by J. I. Packer – A contemporary classic on the doctrine of God. Interesting, thought-provoking, soul-growing.

Shepherding a Child’s Heart by Tedd Tripp – One of the most practical contemporary books on Christian parenting, especially when they are young.

The Doctrine of Repentance by Thomas Watson – First published 344 years ago, this little book has more gold than Fort Knox. Read it, repent, and you’ll be everlastingly glad you did.

2 thoughts on “Recommended Summer Reading ’12”

  1. I am about half way through the “Explicit Gospel” I really like it. A book you should check out for parents in your congregation is called “Parenting By the Book” by John Rosemond. Love it, really in line with other great authors that have influenced me in parenting…..like James Dobson and Kevin Lehman.

    On another note….you should check out the ECPA Bible translation list…..the NIV is listed as number 2, and the KJV as number 1. I’ve never seen that for as long as I’ve been paying attention to translation sales.

Leave a Reply

