Pushing Your Kids Away from the Church and God

Sure, it’s self-serving to post this, but it’s definitely a pattern I’ve seen through the years:

. . . I once overheard a visitor to one of our services tell this story to a young father. He said, “This morning you brought your child to be given over to the Lord. I did that once too. But let me urge you from the bottom of my heart, don’t do to your child what I did to mine. As he grew up, he listened to me criticize the pastor year after year. As a consequence, I turned off my boy to the church and to ministers, and today he is far from God.”

– C. John Miller, Outgrowing the Ingrown Church, p. 34

(HT: Chris Brauns)

Leave a Reply

