Kauflin on Reading the Whole Bible

Bob Kauflin blogs about his experience of reading through the whole Bible using the ESV Study Bible. I am especially impressed with his insights regarding reading ALL of God’s Word:

1. If God made sure his words were recorded for us, why wouldn’t I want to read all of them numerous times?

2. Reading large portions of Scripture regularly slows me down so I can think about life from an eternal perspective. I was in tears today as I finished Revelation, realizing the purpose for which I was created and the sure future that lies ahead.

3. In my daily life, I am constantly bombarded with images, philosophies, thoughts, reasonings, and attractions from the world, my flesh, and the devil. I need large quantities of God’s thoughts, empowered by his Spirit, to resist them.

4. I trust my own thoughts too much.

5. Each time I read through the Bible, I’m humbled as I realize how little I actually know and understand God’s Word.

6. Reading a lot of the Bible helps me more easily see how it all fits together.”

2 thoughts on “Kauflin on Reading the Whole Bible”

  1. Hi Brett,

    Bob is such an inspiration. His insights are very helpful.

    I just had an interesting experience reading through the entire Bible in the month of December. I blogged about my quest at facesoflions.wordpress.com.

    Have a great 2010!
    Dave

Leave a Reply

