Parenting Moments Lead to Spiritual Applications

Tonight I was watching the kids while Superwoman went shopping for groceries and necessities. The kids enjoyed playing, which being translated means when it came time to start thinking about showering and getting ready for bed, the house was a disaster.  As I struggled to keep them on task in cleaning up, the thought hit me:

IF ONLY MY KIDS HAD THE SAME ENTHUSIASM FOR PUTTING TOYS UP AS THEY DID FOR GETTING THEM OUT!

Between my verbal encouragement (attempting to keep them on task) I was daydreaming about what it would be like for them to attack their chores with joy and enthusiasm, when suddenly another thought hit me:

IF ONLY I HAD THE SAME ENTHUSIASM FOR REPENTING OF SIN AS I DO FOR COMMITTING SIN!

Ouch. Ok, God. Just as my kids need to be trained and grow in many areas, so do I.

One thought on “Parenting Moments Lead to Spiritual Applications”

  1. Sadly so true.

    Don’t you hate the flesh?!

    It reminds me of what I think St. Augustine said (I don’t know it exactly)-

    Before I was a Christian there were two loves dwelling in me. A LOVE to do GOOD and a LOVE to BAD. When I became a Christian there was something else that came to dwell within me. I had a Love to do Good, a Love to do Bad, and a Hate for the Love to do Bad.

    I really butchered that, but it was kinda like that.

Leave a Reply

