If I Could Recommend Only One Book Besides the Bible…

What a question! If I could recommend only one book besides the Bible, what would it be?

My initial thought would be Pilgrims Progress by John Bunyan because it has stood the test of time as a classic that has encouraged the faith of untold numbers of Christians. But, it is a long book and a difficult book to read unless you get a modernized version.

My next thought is Desiring God by John Piper because no book I know of has had such a profound impact on so many of my friends, and myself. James MacDonald has said that it is probably the greatest book written in our generation. He could very well be right.

But at this point in my journey, if I had to pick out one book to give a person other than the Book of books, I think i would choose……God Wrote a Book by James MacDonald. Why? Because in this book Pastor James does a masterful job of pointing you to the greatest book of all: The Holy Bible.

9781581346220lrgI’ll list three reasons why this is a book I keep finding myself either recommending or giving away. First, it’s biblical. That statement alone is almost humorous. A biblical book about the Bible. But, it’s true. What he writes about the Bible is sound. Second, MacDonald’s compelling arguments for the trustworthiness and power of God’s Word is presented in a compelling way. His enthusiasm for God’s Word jumps off each page. Third, it’s a short book. I don’t know about you, but I sometimes get frustrated with authors who take 400 pages to say something that could have been said in 100 pages. God Wrote a Book is only 121 pages long, and could have been even shorter if the publisher had not spaced out the sentences so much. This is not to say that MacDonald does not have much to say, it is just that he says what needs to be said and he says it well.

Grab a copy, read it, and then share it with a friend.

2 thoughts on “If I Could Recommend Only One Book Besides the Bible…”

  1. I’m not sure this is even fair. It’s similar, I would say, to assigning “best movie ever” status to a film. Often times when a discussion like this arises I am quick to break the topic down into categories or even sub-categories. For me starting off I would be compelled to break this up into two initial headers of secular and christian books. Next they would be further separated into fiction and non. psychology, history, sociology, life application, (auto)biographic, philosophy. After all that, the book I most often recommend is “The Poky Little Puppy” by Janette Sebring Lowrey. Second Would have to be “Erasmus of Christendom” by Roland Bainton.

Leave a Reply

