Still My Best Man

My Best Man

Fourteen years ago, as Lacey and I were planning our wedding, there was never a second thought in my mind as to who my best man would be: my Dad.

My Dad has always been there…as a father and as a friend.

I’m thankful for his always upbeat attitude, choosing to believe the best in people, giving them 2nd and 3rd and 243rd chances. If my Dad doesn’t like you, you’ve got some serious issues.

I’m thankful for how he has loved Mom through the years. I remember his tender care of her when she fought cancer in the mid-80s. One healthcare worker, observing his tender care, assumed he was her father (fooled not b/c Dad looked old, but b/c Mom has always looked so young!). What could have been considered embarassing was actually a huge compliment to his love for her.

I’m thankful for how Dad always worked to become interested in whatever I was interested in at the time. No matter what sport, no matter what style of music, no matter what historical era; whether it was rap music in my teen years, or my recent interest in hunting, he has used my interests to get into my world.

I’m thankful for how much Dad loves my wife and my kids. Lacey is the daughter to him he never had. My kids are his joy.  He lights up around them and is just as effective getting into their worlds (and thus their hearts) as he did with me.

Yes, God has blessed me with a wonderful Dad. And I don’t tell him that enough.

Dad, you were my best man, you are my best man, and you will always be my best man.

Happy Birthday.  I love you.

2 thoughts on “Still My Best Man”

  1. what a precious tribute…. I am so glad that the Lord has used your dad to help shape you into the son, husband, father and pastor that you are today…. your wife and children are so blessed to have that legacy!

  2. Dear Brett,

    I am moved to tears at the tribute to your father. I, too remember the way your dad took care of your mom when she was battling cancer. I had never witnessed such love and faith in two people. It has been wonderful connecting with your dad and mom again through facebook. He is a wonderful person and you are a wonderful son. I am glad he shared your tribute with all of us who knew you when……

    Marilyn

Leave a Reply

